#TAB – Travel Bug Tuesday : MANI

http://anewlifewandering.com/Mani ( http://www.anewlifewandering.com ) is a girl in her twenties with a name from India but born and raised in Mexico City. In 2008 she met her soul-mate (an American) while traveling in India. She blogs about travel, food and photography as well as her personal unpredictable experiences, attempting to seek a simpler life, wandering around the world, and surrendering to God.

Let’s get personal! ♥

  1. What fuels you to travel? What inspires you?

I do not remember the day where I got the travel bug. I think I was born with it. I think it didn’t help that my parents weren’t afraid to take me far and to different places. At 7 years old I had already traveled across continents. For college, I simply did not see myself staying in my home country, even though I love it there, and it wasn’t enough to simply move to our neighboring country, the USA. So, after graduating High School, I moved by myself for the first time to the faraway land of London, England. I have been moving ever since, traveled to about 20 countries and lived in 5 different cities (in 4 different countries).

2. What countries have you visited already?

USA, Mexico, Canada, Bahamas, Martinique, St. Martin, Spain, France, England, Wales, Belgium, Netherlands, Germany, Denmark, Sweden, Italy, Austria, Hungary, Greece, Turkey, Russia, India.

3. When was the first time you have traveled and what country did you visit?

I don’t remember the first time I traveled, I don’t even know when or where that was because I was so young. And the time after that and the time after that. But a memorable travel experience when very young, (just 6 years old) was when I went to India for the first time, all the way from Mexico City. I remember the tire swing and feeding the peacocks.

4. Where are you now and where’s your next stop?

Currently I am residing in Oregon and I’ve been here for one year now after living in India. As for trips, my last one was Mexico. I honestly don’t know where my next stop is, for the past few years my travels and moves have been quite spontaneous.

5. Name 6 travel essentials that you can’t live without when travelling.

Camera, pen & notebook, advil, kleenex, passport, book, wallet (doesn’t count cause it’s obvious).

6. What kind of traveler are you? ( flash packer/ back packer/ lux packer)

I’ve been several kinds: backpacker, luxury, spontaneous, lightweight, cultural, expat… It really varies. 

7. What is your dream destination and why?

Absolutely Italy. I have a love affair with this country, even before I visited for the first time I’ve had kind of an obsession with it. I just love the food, the language and the vast beauty of the country. I enjoy Italian people to. I would move there in a heartbeat.

8. Your most favorite travel photo that you took and the story behind it?

http://anewlifewandering.com/

This photo was taken in rural India in 2013. My husband and I were visiting a car mechanic, and while he was talking to the mechanics I went off for a really short walk. Around the corner from the mechanic I found this very joyful family. They invited me into their tiny home and offered me some real authentic chai. As they were preparing it, the dudhwala (milkman) came to deliver some fresh milk which was used for my tea. The children were playing and laughing with a goat, the women were doing laundry by hand, and a man was just wearing a t-shirt and a towel wrapped around his waist. It was a very colorful and full of life moment which I got to capture.

9. Have you ever traveled solo? How was it? If not yet, what’s your thought about traveling solo?

I have traveled solo between destinations a lot, I really know my way around airports and to and from countries, but once I arrive to my destination I’m always traveling with company, even if they’re strangers like the time I missed my flight in Mumbai by myself. As for taking a full-on solo trip, I would love to try it out. I just don’t know if it’s in my cards. Maybe one day in the far future. I don’t really think it’s safe to travel to countries like India as a foreign young woman, as I know many that do.

Like Mani’s story? Find here from the links below: 

Travel Blog: http://anewlifewandering.com/

Instagram: http://instagram.com/manigv

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/anewlifewandering

Tumblr: http://illusionwanderer.tumblr.com/

Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/tinywanderer/

Wanna be featured? Click here for details! ♥

